Navigate to the “Global Permissions” within the Jira System settings (Settings > System > Global permissions).

At the bottom, you will find:

“Deep Clone for Jira - Single/Epic Clone” global permission

  • Granted to all users by default. In addition, only logged-in users can use Deep Clone on issues that they have the "Browse project" permission for.

  • You can also grant the project permission instead. Either global or project permissions are needed, not both.

“Deep Clone for Jira - Bulk Clone” global permission

  • Granted to all users by default. In addition, only logged-in users can use Deep Clone on issues that they have the "Browse project" permission for.

“Deep Clone for Jira - Project Clone” global permission

  • Granted to all administrators by default, but can be extended to other users as well. In addition, only logged-in users can use Deep Clone on projects that they have the "Browse project" permission for.

  • Note that no further permissions are needed to clone projects, so you can allow non-admin users to clone company-managed projects.